SQL Server Management Studio – Saving Changes is not Permitted

I have finally migrated to SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) 2008. Everything was great and I was pretty excited about the new features such as intellisence for SQL queries except I kept running into the following error when trying to alter the schema of my tables.

Despite the fact that the table was completely empty, SSMS would not let me make any changes that would require the table to be dropped and recreated. This was never an issue in SSMS 2005 and I was about to revert back to 2005 until I found the solution. If you navigate to Tools -> Options and click on the Designer node in the TreeView the setting “Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation” is selected by default. Just uncheck that box and all will be restored to normal.

It is a good safety percaution to have but it was driving me crazy when I was in the design phase of the database!

Posted in SQL. Tags: , . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

